Skip to content

I Wish…

June 18, 2008

I wish I had an interesting life to blog about.  Instead, I’m making today a day of wishful thinking. Right now, I wish…

  • The data I need has miraculously apparated.
  • My results make sense.
  • My project makes sense.
  • My work is done for the day (or week).
  • It is 5:30.
  • The roads are deserted.
  • My car went 90 MPH without hesitation.
  • My friendly neighborhood police officer wouldn’t mind me going 90. After all, roads are deserted.
  • I have all the time in the world to read, hike, and sleep.
  • I have all the best books in the world to read forever.
  • I have the energy to hike for days.
  • I can sleep with my eyes open, my brain working, and my feet moving.

In reality,

  • The data I have doesn’t make sense, but at least I’ve got something to work from.
  • The results will make sense after I devote lots more time to understanding.
  • I’ll leave at 5:45, even though my work isn’t done for the week, or even the day.
  • The roads will be crowded, but not as bad as they’d be if I left on time.
  • The weather is perfect, and since it’s the longest week of the year, I’ve got plenty of time and hopefully enough energy for an evening hike.
  • I’m young and healthy and have the world ahead of me.  Life really is great, even if I’m stuck pounding my head at my desk for the moment.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

