Skip to content

When you wish upon a star…

July 30, 2008

Last night I moved. Well, I finished the two-week process of moving, sort-of. I’m missing cookie sheets, light bulbs, Downy ball, and cleaning supplies. And still ahead: the daunting task of figuring out how to arrange my room to accommodate all the stuff I’ve accumulated over the years. Ugh.

I’m amazed by my friends. At 6:45 one of my roommates called, “I hear you have small stuff we can load move with our cars.” Half an hour later, I had a crew of 8 helping me move. How did I get so lucky to know these great people? What did I do to deserve their help? Nothing I suspect, they are just phenomenal and I’m incredibly blessed.

Last night I locked up my empty apartment and reflected on my last year of life there. A little over a year ago, despite what would appear to be rationality, I signed a lease for an apartment with dingy appliances and a relatively long commute. For some reason it was the only place that didn’t make me queasy.

Flash forward a year. It’s been the best year of life so far. I’ve never been so happy, I’ve never had so much fun, and I’ve never had as many amazing friends as I do now. I am phenomenally lucky and incredibly blessed. How did this happen? Maybe I wished on a lucky star.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

