Skip to content

High Heels are… Hello Operator

October 23, 2008

Today I wore heels.  High, high heels.  OK, they are 3″ pumps.

Through most of the spring and summer, I found myself preferring flip-flops or flats.  Way easier to convert to barefoot, my preferred mode of operation.

Yet this morning, I thought twice about exposing my toes to the cold with my peep toe wedges.  Reaching around, I found my old standby pumps.  “Oh yes, I love these shoes,” I thought as I slipped into them and walked out the door.

Walking has never been so hard.  I’m 5’6″, not 5’9″.  And I’m not enjoying the necessity of walking on my toes to create the illusion of height.

I’m incredibly impressed that just last winter I managed to wear not just 3″ but 4″ heels.  How I ever adjusted to that, I’m not sure.  But for now, I don’t think I’d like to get reacquainted with the pain and agony.  Let’s just hope I make it through the day without any injuring falls.

To be fair, there are some pros to heels.  Most of my pants, which are slightly too big and therefore sit on my hips instead of waist, don’t drag on the floor with heels.  I’d like to imagine my calves are more attractive in heels, though I’m wearing pants, so that does me no good.

The best result of today’s failed experiment is that now I’ve got an excuse to stock up on winter appropriate flats.  Shopping, anyone?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    October 23, 2008 2:51 pm

    Gall, I love shoes.

Leave a Reply

