Skip to content

Debations

November 13, 2008

It’s interesting how hard some decisions can be, even when you know what the right thing to do is.

For the last week, I’ve been looking forward to attending a play that comes highly recommended from multiple sources.  It’s hilarious!  It’s witty!  It’s clever!  Sounds like an ideal evening of entertainment.  My anticipation has grown stronger as the night of the performance draws nearer.

This morning, my roommate gave her review of last night’s performance: sadly, it was crude, crass, and embarrassing.

What’s to be done?  The tickets are purchased and state very clearly, “no refunds or exchanges.”

A debate is raging through my head.  It’s the old angel/devil on the shoulders bit:

Devil: Between the crass moments are moments of absolute hilarity.  Wouldn’t that be sad to miss?
Angel: Life is funny.  You don’t need this to be entertained.
Devil: If you’re prepared you can block the crass moments out.
Angel: Except that you’ll be so focused on not paying attention that you will pay attention.
Devil: It’s only some language and some innuendo.  Is it that big of a deal?
Angel: Aren’t you trying to be more selective about the media you view?
Devil: Only Act one is bad.  That’s only a few minutes of exposure.
Angel: You know what is right.  Why is this an issue?

Yeah, the angel’s right.  Who cares how funny it is?  Who cares how much money I lost?  And if I try to get a rebate, who cares what a hard time I’m given?  Who cares if they leave a comment on my account about what a horrible person I am?

I called and asked for a refund/exchange.  I was told something I should already know.  “You need to look into what you’re signing up for.  There are no refunds or exchanges.”

How true.  How often is a course pursued without weighing the options and choosing the best path?  How often are seemingly small, long-term consequences overlooked because of a large initial payoff?  Conversely, how often does a costly investment deter you from something with a huge (even infinite) future payoff?  When it comes to choices of right and wrong, there’s a huge tendency to focus on the here and now and severely underestimate the rate of interest.  So often things appear to be big “debations” when a decision should be obvious.

Despite my idiocy, for a small fee I was able to exchange my tickets for a hopefully cleaner upcoming show.  I’m grateful for mercy in a world where justice would be…well, just.

And I’m amazed by the peace of mind that comes when you approach things from a long-term perspective and just decide to do the right thing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    November 16, 2008 4:49 pm

    You are a great person. And I love that you entitled this entry “Debations”. Love it.

Leave a Reply

