Skip to content

Who Needs TV?

November 21, 2008

I’ve recently gone on a TV fast.  It’s partly intentional.  I realized the only show I liked was the Office, and one week I was so embarrassed by the ads during the commercial breaks that I stopped wanting to watch even that.  It’s also partly necessity.  After work, there are typically enough options to keep me happy and busy for 12 hours before bed.  And I’ve got 4 hours.  Television was easily dropped and will continue to be for the indefinite future.

However, sometimes I miss the antics and hilarity of The Office.  Any half wit can’t deny it’s a hilarious show that cleverly pokes fun at real-life work situations.

Fortunately, there are moments when the real world is so irritatingly diverting.

Like when the office chatter box goes from desk to desk in 30-45 minute increments talking about her wide array of experience in acting, dancing, music, fashion, cooking, or (her favorite), men.  The topic of choice with me as sole audience member is men.  I have mixed emotions when listening to the latest schemes to seduce the latest boy who has shown a modicum of interest.  It’s sad to see the eternal pattern play out…boy expresses minimal interest, co-worker misinterprets and blows out of proportion, boy flees, sometimes after a hasty and regrettable not-so-P PKH, and co-worker is left wondering what happened.

My favorite real-life-Office moment this week is when I asked a co-worker to make an enhancement to a model she manages but does not understand (an odd situation in the first place).  The requested enhancement would take approximately 30 minutes to implement and save about 15 minutes per month for at least the next year.  You do the math, or just trust me.  It’s worthwhile.

“Well,” my co-worker deliberates.  “I don’t really understand the purpose of the model in the first place, so I don’t understand why you need this changed.  You’ll have to create some specifications for me detailing the entire process.  Then I’ll consider it.”

Valid argument.  Except, ironically, she ended up requiring a 1.5 hour training on what the model is used for and how it should be modified.  And then, after 1.5 hours were wasted, concluded that it would be a worthwhile change that can quickly be implemented.  Yes, thank you.  And thanks a million for trusting my judgement.  It’s very appreciated.

Through the frustration, I can’t help but laugh.  Without laughing, I may actually become certifiably insane and potentially go postal some day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

