Skip to content

Excitement, Emails, & Embarrassment

December 11, 2008

Have you ever gotten excited to receive mail, even when it’s the monthly valu-pack envelope?

I’m this way with email.  I love the “new message” picture that pops up on the bottom right of my screen.  Approximately 75% of my work emails are conflict checks mass distributed to all consultants at my company.  The other 25% of emails are specifically directed to me (hooray), but likely contain a question that will require some semi-mundane number crunching.  And yet, that little picture is an exciting diversion for me.

Very rarely, I get something that’s legitimately exciting or humorous.  Today was such a day.  I received an email with the subject line, “Hoje terá aula??? Alguém saberia responder?”  Puzzling, since I don’t speak enough Spanish to know this is actually Portuguese.

I quickly discovered that the email appeared to be to a group of buddies & somehow the “All Consultants” email group had been added to the distribution list.  I winced with sympathy at the realization that the President, CEO, and other bigwigs at my company had just received a potentially embarrassing personal email.

I spent a few moments deciphering/imagining what the subject could mean (there was no text in the body of the email).  Options were,

“Where on earth are all of you???  Will you answer the phone?”

“He said what??? How did you respond?”

“Is it Friday yet???  Are you ready to par-tay?”

The suspense was killing me (not really), so I utilized the handy dandy Google translation.  The actual meaning is not nearly as exciting.  Ehh.  Still semi-entertaining to me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

