Skip to content

A “Historic” Day

January 20, 2009

My thoughts from the inauguration:

  • The music is zippy.  I dig it.
  • Dick Cheney is in a wheelchair?
  • Harry Reid looks like a nice man.
  • Joe Biden looks like the charismatic villain in a political/espionage movie.
  • Nancy Pelosi has a beauty pageant smile.
  • Obama looks nervous and like he didn’t sleep well last night.
  • I wonder how cold it is?
  • The “Obama” chanting reminds me of a demolition derby.
  • I want a copy of that John Williams/Itzak Perlman/Yo Yo Ma song.
  • I disagree with the large majority of Obama’s policies.
  • I think he’s probably a good guy and does what he believes to be right.  Probably.
  • “He’s got the whole world in his hands.”
  • Are these the days when black will not be asked to get back, when brown can stick around, when yellow can be mellow, when the red can get ahead, and when white will see the light?  What does that even mean?
  • I wonder why, in a nation where we are taught to be “color blind,” this is more of a “historic day” than any other inauguration that takes place every four years.
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 2:27 pm

    Lets try this again. I attempted to leave a comment earlier but it did not work. I too loved that song. I have been meaning to look for it online, it was just so, so pretty. I have many issues regarding the ‘color blind’ stance. I feel that it is a cheap way to override racism. I could go on and on, but I won’t. Simply put why can’t we recognize and embrace differences? Why do we have to level the playing field? This is one of my many soap boxes. On a lighter note, how about we practice our own pageant smiles? I think we can do it… ( totally kididing.)

Leave a Reply

