Skip to content

Dracula: Rationality or Pessimism?

April 2, 2009

To continue with the theme of evaluating rationality, another Dracula quote comes to mind:

You are a clever man…you reason well, and your wit is bold; but you are too prejudiced…. Ah, it is the fault of our science that it wants to explain all; and if it explain not, then it says there is nothing to explain.

I’m hopeful in the grand scheme of things.  I have faith, I have a testimony of the atonement, I know the gospel is true.

Yet, in small, everyday ways, I often dismiss faith in favor of logic.  Where there is a precedent for failure, I assume it will continue.  (And when considering my flawed self, there is always a precedent for failure.)  In this way, I take a pessimistic view of life, solely because odds are, pessimism will prove correct (or so I justify).  Am I, like the rational doctor of Dracula, prejudiced by reason and wit?

Is it possible to be truly rational and truly optimistic?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

