Skip to content

Summer Blockbusters

May 20, 2009

For the last three weeks I’ve been lucky enough to enjoy some of  the big movie releases coming out this month.  All (Wolverine, Star Trek, & Angels & Demons) were very cool — I’ve certainly enjoyed the beginning of the “summer blockbusters.”

wolfSTa&d

And yet, I wonder….  Why, when the weather is FINALLY perfect and freedom from school (or actuarial exams, in my case) has arrived, do movie makers think it’s a great idea to release huge movies?

Someday, when I rule the world, February will be movie month.  And while you’re enjoying the movie, heated seats will comfort you on an otherwise frigid evening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 1:22 am

    Hey Michelle! You probably weren’t really looking for an answer to your musings about summer movie releases…but I thought I’d share my useless knowledge just in case!

    Theater owners in the 30’s all the way through the 70’s used to think that summer was the worst time to release movies! Some would even close down! Because they thought people wouldn’t want to sit in a theater when it’s so nice outside, and also because not all the theaters were air conditioned! Ha ha! American Graffiti and Bonnie and Clyde came out in the late 60’s/early 70’s and did really well with a younger demographic…probably because they were out for school. So studios started releasing movies during the summer that were targeted at that younger audience because attendance was up during that time.

    Then Jaws came out in the summer of ’75 and broke all kinds of records, followed by Star Wars a couple of years later. And I think they created the summer blockbuster trend. Ha ha! Blame all of your problems on George Lucas! And his younger audience appeal! 🙂

    PS. I really liked Star Trek! Haven’t seen Angels and Demons yet. Did you like it?

    • bo permalink*
      May 21, 2009 8:16 am

      Hey Heidi, this is great! I didn’t expect a response but am happy to know the reason behind summer movie releases.

      I liked Angels and Demons, though not as much as Star Trek (I know, kind-of a different genre). I thought it was a little more interesting than The Da Vinci Code, but also a bit more intense and scary. I’m not sure how much of the difference is due to the fact I’d read Da Vinci Code but not Angels and Demons.

Leave a Reply

