Skip to content

Things to remember, should I ever consider a marathon…

July 21, 2009
tags: ,

On Saturday, I ran my first 1/2 marathon through Bryce Canyon and the nearby towns of Tropic and Cannonville.  I’m very happy I did it.  I’m very happy I finished.

During the run, I was grateful for some beautiful scenery, girly Gatorade, yummy jelly bellies, and great music to help keep me going.  I’m sad I didn’t lug a camera with me, but these pictures are probably better than any I would’ve taken while jogging.

Bryce Canyon 7-18-2009

After the run, I expected to be tired, I expected to be more sore than I’d ever experience before.  I didn’t expect the runny nose, sore throat, buzzing head, nausea, and indigestion that has left me unable to maintain any level of activity or productivity for more than a few hours at a time for the last four days.*

I was told to write about the aches and pains in my journal, lest I rope more people into a second 1/2 marathon (or worse).  Well, I thought it may be wise to post this to the universe, so that you, my readership, will help to stop me in a few months when I start talking about my next big ambition.

*I am, however, happily starting to feel better after lots of R&R.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 4:44 pm

    so SO proud of you.

Leave a Reply

