Skip to content

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

July 24, 2009

Alan Bradley’s The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie has all the elements necessary for a new favorite book:

  • A precocious child narrator, Flavia de Luce, chemistry genius and amateur sleuth with clever lines and humorous antics.
  • A beautiful English countryside setting, complete with a spacious, run down mansion that serves as Flavia’s home and laboratory.
  • A murder mystery, solved only by bringing up the ghosts of an even older unsolved mystery.  I really am a sucker for mysteries: I think it’s the plot-driven storyline that really draws me in.

With all these elements, I really enjoyed this book, though I wouldn’t say I loved this book.  Though amusing, it’s not something that’ll leave you in stitches.  Though interesting, it wasn’t captivating enough to make me wish I didn’t have to stop reading.  Though the characters are likeable, there’s not enough depth of character development to really bond with any of them.  That said, it’s worth a quick read, especially for those who enjoyed the setting, storytelling, and family interactions of  Dodie Smith’s “I Capture the Castle” or Nancy Mitford’s “The Pursuit of Love.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. lizaanne42 permalink
    July 24, 2009 9:35 am

    This one’s on my TBR list. I like the size and cover art, as well as the concept. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
    –Lizaanne
    http://lizaanne42.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

