Skip to content

Washington DC

July 24, 2009
tags:

*Editors note: I started this post shortly after getting home from my trip to DC.  But with a slew of adventures and accompanying pictures to review, actually posting this dragged…hence, the two month lag.

A few weekends ago, I had the great experience of visiting Washington DC with Mike.  The trip was jam packed, but I wanted to give a few highlights:

  • DC Temple: we raced straight from the airport after our red-eye flight to the temple where we met Ashkii and Brooke for a session.  What a beautiful temple, inside & out.

DC Temple

  • Smithsonians: Friday afternoon was spent museum hopping.  My favorite was the natural history museum, especially the butterfly exhibit.

butterfly_blog

  • Mt. Vernon: this would’ve been such a great place to live.  I especially enjoyed reading quotes from our first president showing how he was involved in every aspect of the estate.

mt_vernon_for_blog

  • DC monuments by moonlight: you hear a lot about the Washington monument, Lincoln memorial, Jefferson monument, etc.  But my favorite stop for the evening was the FDR memorial, where you walk through the highlights of this president’s four terms of office and are inspired by this president’s words and actions.

monuments_blog

  • Sunday drive through Annapolis: possibly the cutest, quaintest downtown area I’ve seen.  Close by is the historical & prestigious Naval academy & beautiful dock.

Annapolis

  • Library of Congress: of all the historic buildings in DC, the elaborately Victorian Jefferson building was the most exciting.

LOC

  • Holocaust Museum: this was quite possibly my favorite part of the trip.  However, even if picture taking were allowed, I think I might’ve been too captivated to remember to pull out my camera.
  • National Archives: I didn’t anticipate enjoying this as much as I did.  I guess I thought that studying and appreciating the beliefs of the founding fathers and their revolutionary actions was more important than seeing the actual papers they signed declaring independence or setting up the structure of our nation.  And yet, going through these exhibits, seeing their signatures, while recalling their stories really brought the reality of their work to life.

National Archives

  • National Zoo: I think Mike’s YouTube video says it all.

Special credit goes our wonderful hosts, Brooke, Ashkii, Trevor, Savannah, and Rachel.  They picked us up, drove us around, lent us a car, fed us the best meals I had throughout the trip, played games, joined us for some great day trips to Mt. Vernon & the zoo, and provided a wonderful home to rest our travel-weary heads.  A million thanks for your hospitality!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 9:48 am

    I loved the Holocaust Museum–it was by far one of the most life-changing experiences of my life.

    Glad you had a good time!
    xox

  2. Kendal Raven permalink
    October 21, 2009 8:28 am

    I am going to Washington D.C. today and will be there for almost a week. I’m looking forward to seeing a lot of these historical places. I know that I will learn a lot. I’m 15 years old and I can’t wait to leave for D.C.
    I think that Washington D.C. is a very fasinating place.

Leave a Reply

