Skip to content

Picky

July 29, 2009

It’ll come as no surprise that I’m a picky eater.  I’ve been known to cause a lot of drama growing up over what I absolutely would not eat.

Today, one memory came to mind.  Somehow, my family ended up at some deli.  Apparently everything on the menu contained such offensive items as tomatoes, zucchini, or, perhaps the worst of all, cheese, because I decided the best solution would be not eating.  My parents, however, thought otherwise.  (Perhaps they know that me hungry is no bueno.)  I imagine the waitress thought she was being helpful by suggesting a plain ham sandwich.  Bread & ham?  I could handle that.

mayoSadly, one ingredient was added.  Nasty, vile, calorie-adding, vomit-inducing mayonnaise.  Yuck.  I refused to eat.  Pouting ensued, embarrassment resulted.  And to this day, mayo makes me gag and I’m particularly wary of sub sandwiches because of the tendency of many to assume this food (can you really call it a food?) is universally palatable.

Just one of many perks of becoming an adult is being better equipped to avoid similar situations.  But there are some days, days like today, when avoiding nasty food is nigh unto impossible.

croissantFor an office birthday lunch, a sub sandwich shop was selected.  That’s okay, I’ve adapted.  I placed my order: cup of soup & plain croissant.  Sadly, the soup was forgotten by a sub employee, and the croissant was interpreted as turkey club croissant with…you guessed it.  barf.

To save appearances, I managed to get 1/2 the sandwich down.  Never before have I been more grateful for breath mints.

(Note that my memory and my interpretation of events may be very different from reality.  But it’s my blog, so I’m claiming artistic license.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 3:44 pm

    I’m with you on the mayo–ick, gross, ewwww. It still shocks me that people don’t assume you don’t want it and just slather it on willy nilly. Shudder.

    xox

    • bo permalink*
      July 31, 2009 10:33 am

      I’m glad I’m not alone in my opinions!

  2. Sam permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:53 am

    I remember this deli. It also served cole-slaw “barf.” The embarrassment and attitude that you remember truly did happen…with all three of us. I remember Mom was so mad at us. {giggles} I wonder if its still around…a week or so ago actually wondered into that part of town…but could not find it. {disappointment}

    • bo permalink*
      July 31, 2009 11:00 am

      I couldn’t even guess where it is…except somewhere in Salt Lake (the great and spacious city in my memory). So funny that you remember too.

      • Sam permalink
        July 31, 2009 6:50 pm

        It’s somewhere by Midvale before Gardner Villiage…ish. It had a cool basement with a big screen and a spiral staircase that led down to it. Mom and dad went there after temple night and thought it was so good and cool they would make the fatal mistake of bringing us.

        I wonder if mom remembers any of this?

Leave a Reply

