Skip to content

Fall

September 15, 2009

This morning, I grabbed a jacket on my way out.  To me, this is a sure sign of change.  With mixed feelings, I’m facing up to the fact that fall is here.

In many ways, I love fall. I love fall colors:  I think mother nature’s most beautiful gift are the trees she decorates with red, orange, and yellow. I love fall clothes:  Once I’m able to accept the fact that summer is over, I love the warmth that turtlenecks, long sleeves, jackets, and scarves provide. I love fall food.  Nothing beats pumpkin pie, candy corn, and warm & delicious soups & stews.  Really, fall should be my favorite time of year.

And yet, it’s hard for me not to regret the end of summer and think of fall as a harbinger of the cold, snow, and ice that is winter.  Too often I hibernate early, and I miss out on the leaves, the clothes, the food, and all the great things about fall.  This year, I’m determined to enjoy the last days of semi-warmth to the fullest, though how exactly that will be done is still to be determined.

Am I alone in my love/dread of fall?  What are your favorite things about the season?  What do you do to enjoy fall/prevent pre-winter blues?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 8:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing about the fall season.I love fall it is my favorite time of year we live in Toledo Ohio and the colors are so vibrant.

Leave a Reply

