Skip to content

Health Reform: Why I can’t form an opinion

September 17, 2009

Today, a confession.  I don’t know where I stand in the health reform debate.

You may think this doesn’t really matter.  But for me, who spends most daylight hours inside considering things health-insurance related, I really should have an opinion.  I guess my problem isn’t a lack of opinion, but rather conflicting opinions.

It’s the old angel/devil on the shoulder shtick.  The left side argues for reform in the form of a nationwide Massachusetts health plan: universal insurance; employer/individual mandates.  It’s good that everyone has coverage, and it’s only fair that everyone pays for it.  The right side prompts me to consider how an individual mandate could impact me: I haven’t been to a doctor in 1 1/2 years (and even that was driven by vanity: a visit to the dermatologist for acne medication).  Why, when I have no need for medical care, should I pay thousands of dollars a year for mandatory care that I don’t need and will probably not use?

The only problem with the angel/devil shtick, is that I can’t figure out who’s the angel & who’s the devil.  I remain torn & undecided.

Recently, a news article caught my eye:

Young Adults May Pay Big Share of Health-Care Reform’s Cost

It wasn’t news to me that 10 million of the uninsured are young adults who largely “self insure” because the monthly premium just isn’t worth it; or that, under any health reform proposal, young adults would be required to “help dilute the expense of covering older, sicker people,” and that “this group could even wind up paying disproportionately hefty premiums — effectively subsidizing coverage for their parents.”

What I find remarkable, however, is the absence of feedback from this huge group who are likely to be impacted by health reform more than any other. Where are the opinions of these 10 million?  Why does no one question the proposed solution?

Is it a reliance on employer coverage, or government subsidies, that will hopefully result in a positive impact (cheaper care)? Are they altruistic? Are they apathetic?  Or, like me, are they just undecided about what’s best?

Regardless of my political persuasions, I don’t write this post in an attempt to rake up political debate.  I’m just incredibly curious.  Where do my peers stand?  Am I alone in my (lack of consistent) opinions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 11:13 am

    I’m with you, actually. I see both sides and I just have a hard time justifying the cost when I am one of the people who never uses it. Sigh.

    xox

  2. December 1, 2010 4:38 pm

    health plans may be expensive but it is really very necessary to get one for yourself ;~’

Leave a Reply

