Skip to content

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

September 22, 2009

I don’t know what motivated me to pick up a children’s book, but I’m glad I did.

Kate DiCamillo’s The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is the story of Edward, a china rabbit who considers himself to be an exceptional specimen. In fact, Edward never ceases to be amazed by his fine figure as he admires himself in the window, waiting for his mistress, ten-year old Abilene, to come home from school each day.

Edward’s biggest frustrations are condescending adults who treat him like a common bunny, and Abilene’s tendency to squeeze Edward so tight it wrinkles his fine suits (she just loves him so much).

Edward’s life begins to get complicated when Abilene’s grandmother, Pellagrina, tells Abilene & Edward a bedtime story of a princess who loved nobody.  Edward knows this story is directed at him, and Pellagrina’s last remarks, “you disappoint me,” haunt him through the night.

As the book continues, Edward embarks on an accidental journey through which he discovers the joys and pains of love and loss.  I loved the story of this humorously self-aware china rabbit who grows to be tenderly selfless and kind.

Overall Rating: 5/5

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 12:55 pm

    I am constantly motivated to pick up children’s books. The school is currently having a book fair, I have to force myself to stay away, or I’ll buy out the whole place. I dream of having a library FULL of children’s literature. This one, is one of my favorites, glad you liked it!

  2. September 28, 2009 11:33 am

    I bought this for one of my sisters last Christmas and read it the night before I gave it to her. I loved it!

  3. September 30, 2009 5:53 pm

    I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back

  4. October 13, 2009 5:32 pm

    My kids and I love this one. It is such a great story of forgiveness and change. At the National Book Festival, Kate DiCamillo said that her inspiration for the story came from a nephew (I think) who gave her a stuffed bunny. She had no idea what to do with it. But he became Edward!

Leave a Reply

