Skip to content

New Format

November 24, 2009

A few months ago I started subscribing to various book blogs.

There’s one major perk to these additions to my Google Reader: lots of great book recommendations.  I’m still paring down, trying to find the bloggers whose recommendations are best given my personal preferences.  Until then, I’ve got a “Unread” count that is perpetually overwhelming.  But that is the story for another day.

What I’ve discovered is that I’m not very good at reviewing books.  I never thought I was, but this confirms it.

Also, I’ve been reevaluating my original purpose in writing about the books that I read, which was, as I recall, purely self-interested.  I wanted to remember the basic plot, twists, and details of the books I’d read so that I’d be able to remember specifically why I loved, liked, or loathed a book.

With these thoughts, I’ve decided a few things about the books I write about:

1.  No effort will be taken to avoid spoilers.  These are, after all, about books I’ve already read & for me to remember my initial thoughts.  So who cares if I give away the major twists?

2.  With the new knowledge of what is out there in terms of book review blogs/my ineptness, I’ve become paralyzed and unable to actually publish any posts.  No more!  Things will forever after by privately published, so that I’ll be able to see them.  No one else really cares about reading this anyway.

“Few” implies three, but I really have only two points.  So, over and out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 5:51 pm

    I liked your book reviews!!

Leave a Reply

