Skip to content

Cleaning & Goal Review

January 28, 2010

Something turned me onto organizing/dejunking tonight, and so I cracked open some boxes filled with an assortment of papers from years past.  These exercises usually prove relatively fruitless: I spend 2 hours reminiscing on memories and eliminate about 10% of the stuff.

Anyhow, I happened upon my old “Young Woman’s scrapbook” tonight, where I apparently meticulously organized all the cutesy quotes given to me over six years of my teens.  There are some priceless gems.

Lots of things were about “choosing your eternal companion” and “preparing for marriage.”  This peaked my interest, as I’m engaged.  (Does anyone read this besides people who already know that?  If so, guess what?  I’m ENGAGED!)

A couple things really, really cracked me up.

First, “Ways I need to improve to be a wonderful eternal companion!” (no, I didn’t add the exclamation point.)  My list:

  • cooking
  • cleaning
  • sewing
  • gardening
  • canning
  • journal
  • education
  • gospel
  • scriptures
  • budgeting my money

wow.  WOW.  WOW.

So clearly I need to learn a lot in the next 2 1/2 months.

Second, this priceless gem, apparently from my future eternal companion, written years before we met.  I was way too lazy to type it, but thanks to the wonders of the internet:

To My Dream Girl

We’ll be in love someday, you and I. But I’m not sure I know you now. Someday, somewhere we will discover each other.

I’m fresh from the mission field, still feeling the way only a returned missionary can feel, still floating on memories too new to be dim, and, Dream Girl, I’m looking for you.

Two years ago I was one of the boys, running the race of popularity-more concerned with sharp styles and good-looking cars than anything else.

Then came the call, the farewell, the field. I was a missionary. There was the humbling realization of my greenishness and the regrets that I hadn’t spent more hours gaining an understanding of the plan of living. I worked and studied and prayed. With new understanding of the precepts of Christ came new determination to live, and what had been a vague inner assurance became a burning testimony. I began tasting what is only a word unreal until you taste it—joy— an exalted happiness that dwarfed the passing pleasures I had thought so desirable only yesterday. I began to comprehend the deeper significance of love and marriage and the family. I began thinking serious thoughts about the girl of the future-about you, Dream Girl-wondering, like all who are young, where you were and how I would know you.

You, I told myself, would know what I knew. You would want to share the joy that would come from walking through life with the Lord at our side. You would want to go to the temple. You would want to be queen of the greatest kingdom on earth-the home.  You would want to be a mother. I brought home with me the knowledge that the gospel is essential to true happiness and part of the gospel is you.

And so, I’m not interested in girls who give their lips feely-the girl who is immodest in dress and conduct. I’m not interested in the girl who changes her standards to fit her company—the girl who can see nothing wrong with an occasional cigarette or an occasional drink or occasional immorality. My mission taught me that the phrase “just once won’t matter” can be traced to the prince of lies. I’m not looking for you among shady parties, because, Dream Girl, you’re not there.

You will not be the kind of girl who cares nothing and knows nothing about homemaking. Marriage will brings us face-to-face with the down to earth problems of living. There will be meals to prepare and dishes that need to be washed, clothes to care for, and dirt to battle. There will be budgeting and sacrificing. There will be all the cares and responsibilities of parenthood. Going through the temple is not a magic solution for the problems of life. It is their beginning. That’s why we both must spend some time preparing for the responsibilities we will carry as husband and wife and as parents.

Neither of us will be perfect, Dream Girl. But we will love each other for what we want to be as well as for what we are. And when we don’t see eye to eye, we will kneel hand-in-hand and seek the inspiration of the Father.

There will not be many tomorrows until we meet. And when we do, I will still enjoy dating and dancing, still laugh with you, still relish good clean fun. But I will sense the inner part of you, too. I will feel your faith, your love for God. I will not be concerned with your popularity as much as with your spirituality, with your face and figure as much as with your ideals and ideas, with your ability to dance as much as with your ability to make a home. I will see you as my future Queen.

So there you are—-In My Dreams.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    February 7, 2010 5:57 pm

    Congrats on the engagement!!

  2. Brooke permalink
    June 13, 2010 7:56 pm

    Hi Michelle. Just checking in. This is a great post. I hope things are going well for you and Mike. I am excited for Boston!!!

Leave a Reply

